Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

7 Dec

oatmeal raisin cooling rack oatmeal raisin one

Soooo I’ve actually started working in a cake shop for the last few months and though I’ve made a bunch of desserts at home, I haven’t photographed them or even remembered a bunch of the recipes I’ve used/modified. I’m going to try to get back on that, but between baking at home and work, posting online about recipe just seems to be the thing that gets cut. Here’s a post from a few months ago that I had queued up and ready to go.

Though my husband isn’t so big on chocolate, he loves his oatmeal raisin cookies. Last time I made them, I forgot to photograph them.

oatmeal raisin 2

Lightly adapted from: Averie Cooks
She has several oatmeal raisin cookie recipes on her site, so this is the one I predominantly used, but I added some ideas from her others and other places I’ve seen oatmeal raisin cookies.

Makes: about 18 cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter (1 stick) at room temperature
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated (white) sugar
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
1 egg
2-3 tsp. cinnamon (I love cinnamon, so I went with 3)
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1 cup all purpose flour
1.5 c rolled oats (quick oats will give a different texture)
3/4 cup raisins

Directions:
1) Cream together the butter and both sugars for 3-5 minutes, until evenly mixed and light in color. Alternately, melt the butter and stir in the sugar, allowing the mixture to cool before add the egg.
2) Add in the vanilla extract and egg and mix until well combined.
3) Add the cinnamon, baking soda, and flour slowly and mix just until the flour is mixed in.
4) Add in the oats and raisins and mix until evenly distributed.
5) Place in the fridge for 30 minutes. This helps to stiffen the dough to create a more rounded instead of a flat cookie. If you prefer flatter cookies, you can skip this step.
6) While the batter is cooling, preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with either silicone baking mats or spray with baking spray.
7) Scoop out with a medium cookie scoop or a a heaping tablespoon and place about 2 inches apart on the cookie sheets.
8) Bake for 10-12 minutes, until they are starting to brown. Pull them out before they look too done as, in my experience, oatmeal based cookies harden up a bit more than others as they cool.
9) Remove to a cooling rack after 1-2 minutes and let cool at least a few minutes before diving in to avoid burning your fingers!

Leave a Reply

