Chocolate cake with sour cream

4 Jul

wilton 3 decorated cake cut wilton 3 decorated cake sideI have made a few chocolate cakes in my time, but I’ve had a carton of sour cream in my fridge for a little bit from another recipe that I wanted to use up. The recipe I normally use is this one from my shower cupcakes. It’s moist and very chocolatey without overdoing it, though honestly I’m not sure I would know what overdoing chocolate looks like.

I did a search for sour cream chocolate cakes, since I needed another cake for my decorating class and I knew I’d seen those recipes before. I combined a few of them into this recipe. Trust me, there is nothing more scary that combining recipes/creating recipes and hoping that they turn out, especially if you’re going to need them for something. I decided to give it a go since if it went really poorly I could just decorate it up, take pictures, and toss it. Luckily, it turned out well.

Makes: two 9 inch round cakes

(buttercream instructions/recipe at bottom of post)

Ingredients:

1 cup butter (2 sticks) at room temperature
1.5 cups granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup boiling hot water or coffee
1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
4 eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 cup sour cream
2.5 cups all purpose flour
2.5 tsp baking soda
.5 tsp salt

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 2 9 inch round cake pans with baking spray.
2) Separately, mix boiling water and cocoa and stir to mix. Set aside.
3) Cream the butter and both sugars together until lighter in color and fluffy.
4) Add the eggs one at a time, mixing in between. Add in the vanilla and mix until incorporated.
5) Add 1 cup of flour, the baking soda, and salt and mix in. Add the water/cocoa mix and mix well. Add 1 cup flour and mix. Add the sour cream and mix. Add the final 1/2 cup of flour and mix until just incorporated.
6) Pour evenly between the prepared cake pans. Smooth the surfaces and drop from about 3 inches above the counter onto the counter to make sure there aren’t air bubbles trapped in the bottom.
7) Bake for 25-35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean, though a few crumbs are fine.
8) Remove and place on cooling racks. After 10 minutes, flip out of the pans and let cool completely before frosting.
9) Frost with desired frosting.

I used vanilla buttercream:
2 cups of butter ( 1 lb)
8 cups powdered sugar (2 lb)
2 Tbsp vanilla
milk or cream to thin as needed

Directions:
1) Premix the butter until smooth.
2) Add the powdered sugar a cup at a time, until mixed in.
3) Add the vanilla and milk/cream as needed. For spreading, you want your frosting to be on the thinner side, otherwise you’ll end up crumbling your cake as you try to spread it.

Spreading the batter in the cake pans:

wilton 3 sc choc batter

A single layer, which was later cut into two layers:

wilton 3 choc cake

 

Crumb coated (thin layer of icing to seal in crumbs before putting on the thicker layer of frosting). Both cakes were cut in half and frosted between to make 4 total layers and one tall cake:

 

wilton 3 crumb coated choc cakeFondant covered and an alternate rope border:

wilton 3 fondant covered top wilton 3 fondant covered

wilton 3 fondant covered rope border

And of course, a slice of the cake!

wilton 3 decorated cake slice

 

3 Responses to “Chocolate cake with sour cream”

  1. Sweets. Eats. And Crafts July 4, 2014 at 4:03 am #

    Looks almost too perfect to eat..almost 🙂 do you have a recipe for fondant?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Decorating Practice: RJ’s birthday cake | Knead time - July 16, 2014

    […] man in our wedding, I couldn’t skimp on a birthday cake! I made the chocolate cake I made here. Then I covered with marshmallow fondant and some decorations. It was really pretty and really […]

Leave a Reply

