Yellow Cake #2

11 May

mels cake finish top mel's cake finished sideI recently posted the 1234 cake, which worked pretty well as a yellow cake for my baking class. I’ve found a couple other recipes I want to try, so this one is my second try, using the yellow cake Mel’s kitchen cafe recently posted. It was pretty good, though I’m not completely sold on it being the only yellow cake recipe I would use. I still want to try a couple other ones, which seem to mainly vary in number of eggs, yolks, whites, and ratios of flour/butter/sugar. None of them seem particularly outlandish, so I just need to find the one I like best for myself.

I’ll give credit where it’s due though. This cake was a hit and very moist. I wish it had just been a tad taller (I made 2 9 inch cakes) since I couldn’t really cut it in half (tort it) to make a 4 layer cake. At least, I’m not confident enough in my torting skills yet to not completely destroy the cake. I also just bought some new cake pans that hadn’t come in yet with straighter sides, so I may have to retry this in the new pans.

Notes: My cake pan on the top shelf came out slightly darker, but didn’t stick at all. My lower one was lighter and though the toothpick came out clean, the edges of this one stuck and I had to cut both of them in a bit to make them the same size.

Makes: 2×9 inch cakes (though shorter cakes in height)

Recipe lightly adapted from: Mel’s Kitchen Cafe
*She tried many, many adaptations, so if you want further notes, I’d check out the original blog post. I haven’t yet tried many modifications.

Ingredients:
1 cup butter at room temperature (2 sticks)
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla
3 eggs + 2 egg yolks at room temperature
2 1/4 cups cake flour (or 215 g all purpose flour + 40 g corn starch)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup milk (I used skim)
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt

Directions:
1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray down the cake pans with baking spray, cover the bottom with parchment, and spray again.
2)Let everything get to room temperature. Combine the milk and yogurt.
3) In a mixer, cream together the butter and sugar for 4-5 minutes.
4) Add the vanilla, eggs, and egg yolks and mix until combined.
5) Add in the baking soda, baking powder, salt, and 1/3 of the flour. Add half the milk and greek yogurt mix. Repeat dry and wet, ending with the dry ingredients (flour).
6) Split the batter between the two cake pans and place in the oven for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick in the center comes out clean. Don’t open the oven in the first 15-20 minutes!
7) Remove from the oven and place on cooling racks for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, flip the cake pans and remove the cakes.

The cake was decorated with a basic buttercream in my cake decorating class. Following is the cake in progress!

My stages of decorating: top icing, thick top crumb coating, and basketweave

mels cake barely frosted mels cake thick crumb mels cake basketweave

Leave a Reply

