1234 cake

20 Apr

1234 cake top 1234 cake sideI was taking a cake decorating class and needed a good cake to make for my final class. I had made one before that made wonderful cupcakes (and was originally a cake recipe!) and it crumbled like crazy when I tried to tort it (cut it in half to fill it). I found some recipes that claimed to be awesome and I’m sure they are and will try them soon (probably for my final class of my 2nd cake decorating class this week!), but I needed something easy and tasty, so I settled on a 1234 cake. It was pretty good, moist, didn’t crumble and though I’ll try others, it’s definitely going to be my quick go to recipe.

I know it ended up pretty busy, but I was pretty proud of my decorating skills at least independently! I forgot the whole “take pictures of the cake unfrosted” thing. Also, the 1234 thing is the ration of butter and milk to sugar to flour to eggs.

Adapted from: Many sources, including Smitten Kitchen

Makes: 3 9×9 cakes

Ingredients:
1 cup butter (2 sticks)
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
4 eggs
1.5 Tbsp baking powder
1.5 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray or butter/flour 3 9×9 cake pans.
2) Cream butter and sugar until lighter in color and fluffy.
3) Add eggs one at a time until mixed in and mix in vanilla.
4) Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Add 1/3 dry mix, add 1/2 milk, and alternate one more time, ending with the flour, mixing in between each addition.
5) Add 1/3 batter to each pan and smooth batter. Drop from a few inches above the counter to get rid of any air pockets.
6) Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out cleanly.
7) Remove and let cool on a baking rack for 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and let cool completely before cutting or frosting the cakes.

Leave a Reply

