Pecan Pie (and Apple pie pictures)

10 Apr

pecan pieHere’s one of the pies I made on my New Year’s visit to my in-laws. Considering how much of this was snuck by various family members late at night, I’d say I did a pretty darned good job. I was also partial to it over apple pie (pictured below with lattice crust). It is quite sweet, but that’s pretty much what I’m looking for in my pecan pie since it’s balanced by the fats in the pecans.

Notes: The crust came from my pie crust recipe (1/4-1/3 of the recipe depending on preferred thickness and size of your pie dish). This recipe works best with a deep dish pie pan, so I used 1/3 of the recipe (and the other 2/3 for the top and bottom crusts of the apple pie). If you don’t have a deep dish pan, just be careful how high you pour the filling as the filling does rise a little in the oven.

Adapted from: All recipes, where I seem to get all my pie recipes

Makes: 1 9 inch pie (deep dish preferred)

Ingredients:
1 9 inch pie crust
3 eggs
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup corn syrup (light or dark, depending on your preference)
1 Tbsp flour
2 Tbsp melted butter
2 tsp vanilla extract
~ 1.5 cup pecans

Directions:
1) Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Roll pie crust into a 9 inch (deep dish) pie plate.
2) Whip the eggs until they start to get fluffy. Stir in the melted butter, sugar, corn syrup, flour, and vanilla extract. Once mixed, fold in the pecans.
3) Pour into the pie crust. Cover the edges of the pie crust with aluminum foil.
4) Bake for 50-65 minutes. This can be very dependent on the oven as I found when it took about 65 minutes for this pie to set. You want the center to be slighly jiggly as it will firm up a little as it sets, but not overly so. A knife near the center should come out pretty clean.

For the apple pie:

I used my apple pie filling recipe from here, but used the crust listed above instead of the crust with that recipe. It came out quite good, as you can see below. Still great!

apple pie

Leave a Reply

