Chess Pie

16 Jul

chess pie slice chess pie side gooey

I had my grandma’s pie crust recipe all worked out and I wanted to try it again. I asked my husband what kind of pie he wanted and he responded (after much searching on the internet) “chess pie!” I had only somewhat heard of chess pie, so I had to do a little searching on my own. Turns out it’s a southern treat that is a little like a custard pie, but nice and sweet. I was a little nervous to try it, but it came out great and tasted absolutely amazing!

Notes: I did not prebake my pie crust as this recipe recommends. Instead, I started the oven at a higher temperature, turned it down when I put the pie in, and let the pie sit in the oven until the oven cooled (at least 20 minutes). This also helps prevent the top from cracking. The pie may still crack, but this helps and also lets the pie finish setting.

Adapted from: Southern Living

Makes: 1 pie

Ingredients:
1 single crust piecrust (1/4 recipe my great grandma’s pie crust)
2 cups sugar
2 Tbsp cornmeal
1 Tbsp flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
1/4 cup milk
1 Tbsp white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
4 large eggs

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
2) Make and roll pie crust into 9″ pie dish.
3) Mix sugar, cornmeal, flour, salt, butter, milk, vinegar, and vanilla until well blended. Separately mix the eggs until lightly beaten and then add to the rest of the mix.
4) Pour the mixture into the pie crust.
5) Place in the oven and immediately turn the temperature to 350. Let bake for 50-55 minutes. Leave in the turned off oven until cool or at least 20 minutes. Finish cooling on a wire rack.

Leave a Reply

