Pie Crust

22 Jun

pie crust unbakedI think I’ve posted other pie crust recipes that I’ve worked with a bit so that I’ve gotten them to work. However, on a recent trip home, my mom convinced me that I needed to try my great grandma’s pie recipe since it was the best she’d ever had and was easy to work with. I couldn’t turn down a family recipe, so when I bought some nice peaches last week (peach pie post to come), I decided to give it a try. I made is as is and I’m sure glad I did because it was perfect! It was pliable and baked up insanely flaky! I could tell how flaky it would be as while I was rolling it out, super thin layers would peel back.

Mmm, I can’t wait to make this again! I think it’s ruined me to all other pie crusts.

Makes: 3-4 pie crusts. I haven’t quite figured out how much this will make and I’m sure it depends on thickness of the crust as well. It made a large and small double pie crust with some left over, so I’d wager it could make two double crust pies.

Ingredients:
5 cups flour
2 cups shortening (or lard)
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp. cider vinegar
2 egg yolks + enough cold water to make one cup*

*Once the flour and shortening are mixed,  beat egg yolks, add some water, beat in vinegar, add water to make one cup

Directions: (These are of my own invention as my great grandma didn’t leave me any!)
1) With a pastry cutter, or two knives, cut the shortening into the flour until the shortening is about pea sized. A little larger is okay, too much smaller and you lose a little flakiness.  Sprinkle the salt, baking powder, and sugar over the top.  Mix it just a little to combine.
2) Mix together the egg yolks, vinegar, and water to a total of one cup of liquid. Pour over the flour mixture. Mix together with your hands until all the flour is moistened.
3) Cut into 3-4 pieces and let rest in the fridge for 30 minutes.
4) Remove one piece at a time and roll out until desired size for pie plate using. Make sure to roll far enough to account for the depth of the pan as well. Use flour as needed to keep from sticking to the pastry mat/rolling surface and rolling pin.
5) Roll up dough on rolling pin, move to pie plate, and unroll over the pie plate.  Lift edges and move in slightly to allow the crust to sink to the bottom and fill the bottom and sides of the pan. Crimp edges or, if using a double crust, leave enough overlay to stick top layer to bottom crust to seal.
6) Either prebake 10-15 minutes or bake as noted in pie recipe.

One Response to “Pie Crust”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pecan Pie (and Apple pie pictures) | Knead time - April 10, 2014

    […] The crust came from my pie crust recipe (1/4-1/3 of the recipe depending on preferred thickness and size of your pie dish). This recipe […]

Leave a Reply

