Guinness Brownies

1 Jun

guiness brownies cut

These brownies were at the request of my fiance’s lab. I’d never heard of them until this last St. Patrick’s Day when someone gave me one to try. I didn’t much like what I tasted, so I was hesitant to try them. There wasn’t enough of a chocolate flavor and they were pretty cake like instead of fudge like. Confession: I also don’t like Guinness, so I wasn’t sure I’d ever like a Guinness brownie.

I searched around online and all recipes for Guinness Brownies I came across seemed the same, so I felt pretty confident that that is what was used in the brownies I had tasted. Off to modify! They came out FANTASTIC! They are a bit more cake like than a normal brownie, but still fudgy at the same time.

Notes:

I read though a couple of the comments on the recipes and took my knowledge of what my audience liked (not very dark chocolate fans) and adjusted accordingly. The main changes that I made were to use 4 oz bittersweet chocolate and 4 oz semi sweet chocolate chips instead of all bittersweet. There are also chocolate chips added on top which I instead stirred in to give a more uniform chocolate taste. I also added the eggs and sugar directly instead of premixing the two as this is common among my other brownie recipes.

Additional note: I looked around after I made this recipe and some of the others I found had made the same modifications I had! Bonus points for me- my thinking is in the right place with recipe substitutions.

Adapted from: About.com
Makes: 1 9×13 tray (24 brownies)

Ingredients:

4 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
12 oz (1 bag) semi sweet chocolate chips dividing into 4 oz. and 8 oz.
3/4 c white chocolate chips
6 Tbsp. butter
4 large eggs
1 c sugar
1 c flour
3/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
8 oz. Guinness Stout (no foam, room temperature) I used regular Guinness and had great results

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cover a 9×13 pan with aluminum foil and spray with cooking spray.
2) In a microwave safe bowl, microwave the bittersweet chocolate, white chocolate, 4 oz semisweet chocolate, and butter for 1 minute. Stir until smooth, microwaving for 30 seconds at a time if needed to melt all the chocolate.
3) Add the sugar and stir with a wooden spoon. When cool enough, add the eggs one at a time and mix.
4) Add the salt, cocoa powder, and flour. Mix until just combined.
5) Add Guinness and stir until even mixed. This may take a little work to get the liquid evenly distributed. Once combined, fold in the remaining 8 oz (about 1 c) chocolate chips.
6) Pour into the prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. The sides also pull away from the pan. They may look like they need longer than they really do, so a toothpick is the best way to go.
7) Let cool completely before cutting into 24 squares.

guiness brownies uncut

Leave a Reply

