Vanilla Cupcakes

3 May

vanilla cupcakes baked 030113vanilla cupcakes before bakeContinuing my bridal shower cupcake spectacular, here are the vanilla cupcakes I used! These were topped with caramel cream cheese frosting and strawberry buttercream frosting. I’ll have a picture of all of them in one of the frosting posts.

Notes:

This recipe is where I discovered the real power of baking powder. The recipe is for 36 regular cupcakes and I only wanted to make a dozen mini cupcakes. I accidentally added twice the amount of baking powder on my first batch and they ran over the cups and made for a way too airy cupcake. I was able to remedy this in later batches and when I made my final batch for the shower itself, but be careful if cutting this recipe down! Also, I love Ina Garten’s Chocolate Cake recipe (I’m not sure if I’ve put my version up here yet), so I was ready to take on a vanilla cake of hers after seeing it was one of the top recommended ones.

Adapted from: Laura’s Sweet Spot via Ina Garten
Makes 72 mini cupcakes (give or take!) or 36 regular cupcakes

Ingredients:
3 sticks (1.5 c) butter (room temperature)
2 cups sugar
6 large eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
3 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
.5 tsp baking soda
.5 tsp salt
1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup milk with 1 Tbsp lemon juice or vinegar)

Directions:
1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. For mini cupcakes, put foil mini cups onto a baking sheet.
2) Cream the butter and sugar until lighter in color. Add in the eggs and vanilla and beat to mix. Add the baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Alternate adding 1 cup flour and .5 cup buttermilk, starting and ending with the flour. Mix each until just combined.
3) Fill each foil cup halfway with batter. Bake for 10-12 minutes (18-20 minutes for regular cupcakes) until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
4) Let cool on the baking sheet slightly and when able to handle, move to a cooling rack to finish cooling. Let cool completely before frosting.

One Response to “Vanilla Cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shower cupcakes | Knead time - May 27, 2013

    […] Vanilla Cupcake […]

Leave a Reply

