Chocolate Cupcakes

15 Apr

chocolate cupcakes 030113

I had my bridal shower last month with my side of the family and I offered to make some cupcakes for it. I ended up making about 100 mini cupcakes (for about 30 women) and only a had a few left at the end! The favorites were chocolate with peanut butter frosting and vanilla with caramel frosting. I also made chocolate with raspberry frosting and vanilla with strawberry frosting. I’m going to be posting these in 4 posts- one for the chocolate cupcake base, one for the vanilla cupcake base, and one for each type (buttercream and cream cheese) frosting. Some pretty pictures should be showing up in the other posts too!

Notes:

For these cupcakes, I did a lot of searching online for the best cupcake recipes and ones that I felt were similar to good cake recipes I used. I ended up stumbling upon Laura’s sweet spot and her side by side chocolate and vanilla cupcake posts. She seems to have similar ideas about cupcakes as me, so I used her suggested recipes, though with a few modifications. The main modifications is that my taste testers don’t like coffee and thought the original was a little to ‘dry’ which in the chocolate world seems to really mean not sweet enough. I adjusted the amount of sugar instead of the type of chocolate, but I’m sure you could also switch to a semi sweet chocolate and also have a sweeter result.

Adapted from: Laura’s Sweet Spot via Cook’s Illustrated
Makes: 12 regular or 24 mini cupcakes

Ingredients:

3 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped fine
1/3 cup Dutch-processed cocoa
1/2 cup hot coffee
1/4 cup hot water (you can use all hot coffee instead of the water here)
3/4 cup bread flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
6 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons white vinegar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2) For mini cupcakes, use a mini muffin pan or foil baking cups (such as those by Reynolds) that can be set on a cookie sheet and set them out.
3) Add chocolate and cocoa to a medium bowl and pour hot coffee and water over top. Stir until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Let cool to room temperature (refrigeration will speed this up).
4) Add oil, eggs, vinegar, and vanilla and mix until combined. Add the flour, sugar, salt, and baking soda and mix until just combined. The batter may seem thin.
5) Divide the batter between the baking cups, filling about halfway.
6) Bake 10-12 minutes (17-19 minutes for full sized cupcakes), until a toothpick comes out clean.
7) Let cool on a wire rack until room temperature before frosting.

3 Responses to “Chocolate Cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shower cupcakes | Knead time - May 27, 2013

    […] Chocolate Cupcake […]

  2. After a long break… | Knead time - March 30, 2014

    […] peanut butter frosted chocolate cupcakes using the recipe I posted here: and vanilla cupcakes with (2 different shades of) buttercream […]

  3. Chocolate cake with sour cream | Knead time - July 4, 2014

    […] fridge for a little bit from another recipe that I wanted to use up. The recipe I normally use is this one from my shower cupcakes. It’s moist and very chocolatey without overdoing it, though […]

Leave a Reply

