Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Frosted Brownie Cupcakes

3 Mar

cookie dough brownie cupcakes

Yeah, that’s right. You just read that title. My fiance challenged me to make something chocolate, cookie, bar, and cupcake like. This seemed to be my best compromise and apparently was the biggest hit yet.

It has struck me that putting the notes after the recipe might not be the best thing since people (or me, going back to remake things) may not see the notes until after they’ve already started the recipe. Therefore, I’ve moved them to the front. There are a few entries I have backlogged, so a few may switch up the notes locations for the next few weeks, but hopefully this will help!

Notes:

The original recipe uses cocoa powder exclusively. However, I prefer brownies with melted chocolate so I changed up the recipe a bit there. I may go all the way to melted chocolate next time. Since it was my first time with a recipe like this though, I didn’t want to stray too far from the original the first time, especially since I was making it for other people and didn’t have time to test the recipe. If I change it all over, I’ll update this recipe.

The brownie cupcake is more dense than a normal cupcake, but less dense than a fudgy brownie. I normally am a proponent of the fudgier, the better, but with such a thick, sweet frosting, I think this type of cake works quite well. I may still tweek it in the future.

Adapted From: Cooking Classy

Makes: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcake:
2 oz chocolate chips
10 Tbsp butter
1/2 c + 2 Tbsp (10 Tbsp) granulated sugar
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1/4 c cocoa powder
1.5 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

Frosting:
10 Tbsp room temperature butter
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1 1/2 c powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 Tbsp milk
1/2 c all-purpose flour
3/4 c mini chocolate chips

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line one 12 cup muffin tin with baking cups and coat them with cooking spray.

2) In a microwave safe mixing bowl, melt chocolate chips and butter at 30 second intervals in your microwave. Once melted, mix in both sugars and the cocoa powder. Mix in eggs, milk, and vanilla extract. Add flour, salt, and baking powder, mixing until just combined.

3) Pour or scoop the batter into the cups, filling each about 2/3 full. Bake for 16 – 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Move to a wire rack and allow to cool completely before frosting.

4) In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy (about 2-3 minutes). Slowly mix in the flour, powdered sugar, and vanilla. Add milk to obtain desired thin/thickness of frosting. With a wooden spoon, mix in the mini chocolate chips.
5) Pipe or spoon the frosting on to the completely cooled cupcakes. I attempted to pipe first and it went well except for one, so I ended up playing around with the top and creating spikes like the original. Either tastes just as good!
Leave a Reply

