Vanilla Fudge

18 Feb

vanilla fudge done

I got this recipe from my mom. I’ve been wanting for awhile to make real fudge, not the quick stuff  with condensed milk and chocolate chips, as tasty as that is too. I still have to make the chocolate version, but this vanilla version is amazing. I did have to make it twice as I made some of the common fudge making errors the first time and it got all gritty and didn’t quite set up the first time around. I’m posting pictures of both versions of the fudge and I’ll post comments along the way and combine them all again at the end to help you out if this is your first time too!

Makes: one 8×8 pan

Notes:

The first time I made this, I made it in a large saucepan. Big mistake! It was too small and boiled up. I kept having to pull it off the heat so it wouldn’t boil over the edges. I also scraped the sides in to the mixing bowl- another flub. As you can see my fudge never set and was shiny and extremely gritty.

vanilla fudge boiling over vanilla fudge grit

 

What you want to do is make sure you use a large pot so it can heat consistently and do NOT scrap down the sides at any point after the sugar has dissolved. Any of the crystals you push in to the dissolved sugar can form crystals in the fudge which keeps the fudge from being smooth and from setting correctly.

Ingredients:

3 c sugar
3 Tbsp light corn syrup
1.5 c light cream
.5 tsp salt
1.5 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

1) Mix sugar, corn syrup, and cream in a large pot.

vanilla fudge preheat2) Bring to a boil and cook without stirring until it is at 236 degrees F (soft ball) using a candy thermometer.

vanilla fudge boiling big pot

3) Remove and if using stand mixer, quickly (and CAREFULLY) transfer to the bowl of the mixer without scraping down the sides. If using a hand mixer, you may leave or transfer to another container you’d prefer to mix in.

4) Let cool until lukewarm (110 degrees F). A quick transfer of the candy thermometer when transferring the syrup is helpful here. This step may take up to an hour, so be prepared and don’t rush it.

5) Add salt and vanilla and beat until thickens and loses its gloss. You can see a little bit of shine in my picture, so I probably should have beaten it a little longer, but it came out pretty well anyways. It’ll start to look like taffy.

vanilla fudge new lose gloss6) Transfer to a buttered 8×8 pan. Let stand until firm and cut into 1 inch pieces.

 

 

Leave a Reply

