Cake Rice Krispies

20 Nov

My fiance knows that I love to bake and will occasionally send a recipe my way. It’s kind of funny, because I like testing out different techniques or multi component desserts, but he has much easier to please tastes. This recipe was super easy and I knew he’d love it, so I headed out and got myself some Rice Krispies. The cake flavor is pretty mild, but it softens the end of the bite, which is pretty nice.

Makes: 24 squares (approx 2×2)

Adapted from: Gimme Some Oven

Ingredients:

3 Tbsp. butter
1 (10 oz.) bag of mini-marshmallows
1/3 cup dry yellow cake mix
5 cups crispy rice cereal
2 oz. of sprinkles

Directions:

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows.

Stir until they begin to melt, loosing their individual marshmallow shape.

Add cake mix 1/3 at a time. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix.

Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles.

Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting.

Notes:

I used the DIY cake mix I’ve previously made and it turned out fantastic! I might add a hint of vanilla extract next time just so it seems a little more cake like in taste and not just texture.

Leave a Reply

