Chocolate Chip Scones

11 Nov

I’m not the best morning person out there, but I don’t like to have the same thing every morning for breakfast. All through school, I had either cereal or an english muffin every morning. When I hit college, I decided that a bland same breakfast every day was no more! However, I’m barely awake for the first hour or so that I’m up and wanting to eat breakfast, so things that I can bake ahead of time and freeze individually to pull out and heat up on a whim are great. Scones fit that category quite well.

Makes: 12 scones

Adapted from: Skinnytaste

I think I’ve mentioned before that I love Gina’s regular meals on skinnytaste, but I also love trying her baked goods. Her step by step pictures are also awesome.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup buttermilk (I always used a 1 c skim milk with 1 Tbsp white vinegar or lemon juice as a replacement, so 3/4 c skim milk with 2 tsp. vinegar works here. Let it sit about 5 minutes)
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 tbsp chilled butter cut into small pieces
3/4 cup chocolate chips
1 large egg white, lightly beaten
1 1/2 tbsp sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375°. Spray a baking sheet (or parchment paper on a baking sheet for easier clean up) with cooking spray.

In a mixing bowl, mix the buttermilk, sugar, vanilla extract and egg together.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt. Cut in chilled butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until the mixture resembles coarse meal, like with a pie crust. Add to the milk mixture, stirring just until moist. Add in the chocolate chips, making sure to not over mix the dough and warm up the butter.

Place dough onto a floured surface and knead lightly four times with floured hands. Form dough into an 9-inch circle onto baking sheet or parchment paper, about 3/4″ thick. Using a knife or a pizza cutter, cut dough into 12 wedges all the way through.

Brush egg white over dough and sprinkle evenly with sugar. Bake until golden, about 18-20 minutes, depending on your oven.

Notes:

I often wrap them in plastic wrap, put them in a large freezer bag, and freeze them until I want them for breakfast. They only take about 20-30 seconds in a microwave to warm up nicely.

I also usually skip the egg white and sugar step, mostly because I don’t remember it until the scones are 10 minutes in to baking.

Leave a Reply

