Lazy Cake Cookies

15 Oct

My fiancee sent me a link a little while ago for ‘lazy cake cookies’ (from I’m a lazy mom) and asked me to make them some time. They seemed rather simplistic to me, but I kept it around for when I was in a rush. Yesterday at 4 pm, he said he found out it was a coworker’s birthday today and asked if there was any way I could whip something up. I thought of this and remembered I still had DIY cake mix left over from cupcakes I made last week.

I made only a few modifications (since there weren’t many to make as it was a pretty simple recipe) and the result was great!

 

 

Makes about 15 bars

Ingredients:

One box cake mix (or half DIY cake mix)
5 Tbsp melted butter*
2 eggs
2 cups chocolate chips (~1 12 oz bag)

* I wasn’t sure how well the DIY cake mix would match up proportionally to a box mix, plus the mix already has butter in it. I used 3 Tbsp melted butter and then slowly added milk to get the right consistency.

Directions:

Preheat over to 350 degrees.

Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. Mix all ingredients together and pour into sprayed pan.

Bake for 20-30 minutes. I let these cook another few minutes after a toothpick came out clean because they seemed slightly more gooey than a cake should be. They seemed right after another few minutes in the oven and cut wonderfully when cool.

Note: 2 cups of chocolate chips was a lot. I’d already added them all when I realized and everyone seemed to like them, but if you have some people that don’t like chocolate as much, I’d cut down to 1-1.5 cups.

Leave a Reply

