Ombre Petal cake- another yellow cake

20 May

ombre petal side ombre petal top

For our wedding, we didn’t keep the top layer of the cake. Instead, we made each layer a different flavor. I had considered buying a cake for our anniversary, but I had found this ombre petal cake a few weeks ago and I really wanted the excuse to make it. I made it purple, using one of our wedding colors.

ombre petal cut

 

This cake may not be the only one I’ll ever make, but I did really like it. It was moist, but stayed together very well when I torted it. It was a little closer to a white cake with the egg whites instead of whole eggs. I did some small changes that probably brought down the lemon flavor a little because I wanted it a little closer to the other cakes to compare. I keep looking for more and more ways to describe a yellow/white cake, but I haven’t quite figured that out yet, so I’ll just say that for now, this is at or very near at the top of my list.

Also- I must say that I bought new cake pans and I LOVE them. Pretty much nothing stuck, the sides were very straight, and they cooked very evenly. The pricey pans were worth it!

Makes 1 cake (2×9 inch cakes stacked)

Adapted from: Brown Eyed Baker (who got it from Dorie Greenspan)

Ingredients:
1/2 c butter (1 stick)
1.5 c sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1.25 c buttermilk (made with 1 Tbsp lemon juice in milk)
4 large egg whites
2 c all purpose flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt

(filling was raspberry jam and frosting was a double batch of swiss meringue buttercream as made here)

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 2 9×2 inch non stick cake pans with baking spray.
2. Cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy and lighter in color, 3-5 minutes. Add in the vanilla extract. and beat until combined.
3. Mix the egg whites and milk together. Separately, mix the flour, baking powder, and salt together. Add flour and milk alternating, starting and ending with the flour mixture until incorporated. (The original says to beat another 2 minutes, but uses cake flour, so I only mixed slightly longer than I normally would.)
4. Once are ingredients are mixed in, split the batter evenly between the two cake pans and level the top of the batter.
5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out cleanly.
6. Let rest in the pan on a cooling rack for 10 minutes, then invert the pans and remove the cakes.
7. Wait until completely cool before cutting and/or frosting the cake. Below is my visual step by step of decorating.

Cake in pans and popped out:

ombre one cake side ombre both cakes ombre one cake

Torting the cake:

ombre torted bottom ombre torted top

First layer of filling:
ombre filling bottom layer

 

Second layer of filling:ombre filling middle layer

All filled and stacked:

ombre filled

A slightly thick crumb coating using the hot knife technique. Briefly, very hot water is put in a container (I used a large mug). Your (angled) spatula is put in the water to heat up, removed and the water shaken off, and run over the cake. After a few runs over the cake, you’ll need to reheat in the water, which shouldn’t take more than a few seconds if you water stays hot. This slightly melts the butter to smooth the cake well. It’s more impressive with a thicker frosting, but I wanted to do other decorations to it, so I left it as a thinner coat.

ombre crumb side

The fully decorated cake!

ombre petal side

2 Responses to “Ombre Petal cake- another yellow cake”

  1. sarlysweets May 20, 2014 at 2:11 am #

    amazing !

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

